Compare International Health Insurers

CIGNA Global 1 2 3 4 5 4.5 / 5 based on 24 ratings. 24 user reviews.
  • Overall, the process was great. They were very responsive as I was researching different options on another comparison site. The applications process was quick, payment was easy and I have had no issues since.

    Joe Cronin, an expat from United States in United States - June 8, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 1 1
  • This health insurance company sounds too good to be true. They take the premiums, then they refuse to pay on the claim, and then add it on as pre-existing condition at that time. They are a bunch of crooks!

    Anonymous, an expat from Germany in United States - May 17, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 6 0
  • Truly awful Service if you put in a claim you have to wait an age for it to be paid or it just will not be paid. They do not respond to emails or complaints. If you contact them by phone hardly any of them speak English even though their customers are in English speaking countries. The ones that do speak a little English struggle to understand your concerns and do nothing about them. The real worry we have is if one of us was seriously ill Cigna for certain would be of no use at all. Stay way from this Company!

    Anonymous, an expat from United Kingdom in Canada - May 3, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Terrible service and responsiveness. It took more than 9 months to resolve a co-payment issue with a hospital. Dozens of international phone calls so that I wasn't left out of pocket, even though the terms were clear. More than 10 times I was assured that it was resolved by Cigna representatives only to find out from the hospital that they were still owed money. Finally resolved in my favour as expected. The fact that I had outstanding debt to my name in a country with a less than desirable legal system was stressful and could have resulted in legal action being taken against me. Not worth the risk to go with Cigna.

    Anonymous, an expat from Australia in Thailand - April 25, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • The most useless insurance ever. Do not recommend to anyone. Reimbursement process doesn't work. Customer service is terrible. I spent more than 70$ just to try and call them and almost 1000$ for claims which can't be proceeded. Terrible, Worst ever.

    Tanya, an expat from Russia in Thailand - April 5, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • I explained my situation to the representative making sure I was purchasing the correct policy. 0% deductible and 0 out of pocket which cost me $400 NZD per month. Yes you're reading that correctly but money isn't the issue. I had an appointment to see a specialist and Cigna told me they wouldn't cover it because my referral letter was written prior to the appointment and I had a pre existing condition. I have no pre existing condition nor do I have any documentation stating I do! The fact that the date of my appointment is a deciding factor in whether or not I get coverage is ridiculous. Insurance companies in general are out for one thing and one thing only... money. They're no more concerned with your health or wellbeing than these vulture pharma companies. Cigna fits right in with the money hungry associations. Luckily I found out that my appointment is cheaper paying out of pocket than my insurance fees.

    Aria, an expat from United States in New Zealand - March 21, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • I had an emergency case during my travel in February 2016 in Wellington, NZ caused by sudden allergic reaction to sun which I have never had before. I was very much disappointed about low service and unprofessional approach when I called hot-line and applied for help.The lady on the phone was useless, she sent me several times to wrong hospitals.Finally I had to run to find clinic by myself and paid all from my pocket.The doctor said if I came an hour later, I could die.I was a holder of Cigna insurance policy with direct billing, 0 deductibles & 0 out of pocket. When my policy expired and I wrote I didn't want to renew it, Cigna charged my card for $4.8k.Luckily there was not enough money.I asked them to stop it by email but they kept charging my card again and again. I've got no feedback from Cigna regarding my complaints.There is no customer care at Cigna and no respect.They are only interested to get money from you but not solving your problem when you are in real trouble.Horrible!

    Nikolay K, an expat from Russia in Vietnam - October 19, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 1
  • I was surprised it covered so much. I thought it was just inpatient cover but when I had an accident it covered that too. Cigna were friendly and helpful.

    Francesca G., an expat from Sweden in Singapore - July 7, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 0 0
  • All in all its a great insurance plan.

    Grace Y., an expat from United States in Iraq - August 15, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 4
  • perfect service, we are really happy with CIGNA, and even if not using them too much they have been really helpfull all the time. as my company is paying for it and i do not know the price i cannot judge though if it's good value for money.

    Earnest S., an expat from France in Singapore - February 18, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 8 13
  • I have used Cigna for my family in Singapore and I would say that its the best when it comes to Cashless settlement. Cigna has a tie up with Parkway Shenton Group in Singapore so all of the parkway clinics get covered by Cigna in Singapore. As long as its a cashless settlement the process is fantastic. In case you ever need pre-authorization for any thing major Cigna gives it no time to you or your medical provider. When it comes to pay and claim Cigna's online submission is pretty good. Most of the times the claims go through. I won't say that Cigna settles the claims very promptly and some times they take good 3-4 weeks or even more to settle the claims though there are no questions asked and claim is reimbursed. They don't impose any restrictions in terms of doctors that you can go to. If you decide to buy Cigna cover personally premium is at least double compared to local insurers Having said that I would recommend Cigna any day for expats in Singapore

    Zyril D., an expat from India in Singapore - January 10, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 1
  • If you stick with it you will have your claims paid. Just be prepared to fight for it.

    Tina R., an expat from Austria in North Korea - October 24, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • No problem here

    Veronica S., an expat from United States in Philippines - September 26, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • I have no choice. This is the only medical my work offers. Would NEVER pick them on my own. Way too much bull.

    Marco S., an expat from Greece in Philippines - September 14, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 5
  • Fantastic cashless health insurance for some of the private healthcare providers in Singapore. As long as I use listed doctors (GP or specialist) all consultations, medications, lab test etc are all done without me even seeing a bill. Great because it avoids all the hassle of filling in claim forms and quibling over what is or is not covered. Also fantastic for big expenses which we may not have had the cash for should we need to pay first and then claim it back. Sadly though, we are losing this health insurance at the end of the month when we go on local contract, and I cannot see it being worthwhile for us to join it ourselves as individuals once we are no longer covered on the company policy.

    Lisa J., an expat from United Kingdom in Singapore - August 13, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Their online claim submission and reviewing process is excellent! Very easy to fill out. Takes only few mins. Also they usually process claims within a week, which is great!

    Mukkul, an expat from Canada in Singapore - July 19, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • No problems with Cigna for the 2 years i've had an account with them.

    Michelle B., an expat from Australia in Singapore - June 25, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • Application process is very easy. You can buy 100% online with a credit card http://www.cigna-international-health.com Customer service is hard to beat with Cigna, very responsive.

    Vans S., an expat from United States in Germany - June 13, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 0
  • All services I've recieved have been payed with out issue.

    Jaslei E. , an expat from Australia in Singapore - March 23, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • I have no choice. It's the company's insurance policy.

    Shirly S., an expat from China in Singapore - February 27, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 5
  • All services I've received have been payed with out issue.

    Terrence D. , an expat from Australia in Singapore - February 17, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • CIGNA handles routine approved claims fairly well. But when even the smallest thing is different or non-standard they drift into DUMMY mode and never recover. They say one thing today, another tomorrow. It's a game of wild goose chase that never ends until you finally get tired and give up. They are horrible at handling anything but routine! Information sent to them is ALLWAYS lost. I would never recommend to my least friends. I've been fighting a +$500 claim for months now. Every time I call they want me to do something else before deciding if they'll pay the claim.

    Reily D., an expat from Cambodia in Japan - February 2, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 12 2
  • I have received the best service and least problems from Cigna compared to the other health insurers I’ve used in the past. The cost of medicine in Moscow is comparatively expensive for good care, but Cigna has never rejected a claim or given me trouble. Even when expensive bills for diagnostic tests came through Cigna handled everything quickly and easily without me even needing to fill out additional paperwork or call the company.

    Daniella R., an expat from Italy in Russia - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 8 0
  • The products are all good, the customer relationship officer are good so far but I've once tried to close one of the insurance program was little bit disappointed because they still debit my credit card but finally back after I called.

    Dedy I., an expat from Indonesia in United States -

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 1
Featured articles view all
Partners
Are you looking for a flexible international health insurance?
cigna

Don't take chances with your medical cover

Get a free health insurance quote now from Cigna Global :

With Cigna Global Health Options you can create an international
health insurance plan that's perfectly tailored for the needs of you and your family around the world.

CIGNA Global

1 2 3 4 5
CIGNA Global is currently rated 4.5/5
based on 24 ratings. 24 user reviews

Read reviews
get a free quote
No thanks