Compare International Health Insurers

Bupa Global 1 2 3 4 5 3.5 / 5 based on 24 ratings. 24 user reviews.
  • We had expat insurance (BUPA) for the first years, until we became residents. As residents we were entitled to French coverage

    Katie, an expat from United States in France - April 19, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • If the company wasn't paying I would not be on BUPA. They make mistakes in claims and customer service are uninformed and difficult to deal with. Average wait time to speak with rep is 15 mins, only to be told they will get back to you. Latest nightmare with them i have been waiting for pre-approval for a very routine outpatient treatment. It has taken two weeks and no reply i have had to call them back twice and no update. Save your money and go elsewhere!

    Anonymous beacuse under my employer, an expat from Singapore in Singapore - April 4, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • Expensive,no service,not clear at all, had the platinum plan who is the best one 5 milj banht covered by case,but when asking to clarifie it was not clear, it means if they say that your new case is related to the previous one and the 5 milj is used its finished and thats easy for sure to relate one to another. When you send a mail with a question nobody reply, if you send a mail to cancel within 5 min they reply to ask why?

    ERIC DEKEGEL, an expat from Belgium in Thailand - March 31, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 0
  • I used to have private UK health insurance (BUPA) which was very expensive, and when I came to make a biggish claim I had a huge battle with them as they didn’t want to pay it. I decided, after that, that if I saved the money that I spent on private health insurance to pay for myself if anything was needed, I was probably better off!

    Jo W, an expat from United States in Czech - February 10, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • The service itself was outstanding. Unfortunately it's probably not price competitive as we found (when we had to take the cover on ourselves). If money is no object, I can't speak highly enough. If money is an object, then we've gotten very good service (albeit not quite as outstanding as BUPA) for about 2/3 of the price.

    Jim G., an expat from Australia in Singapore - May 9, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 0
  • Quite a few GPs and other Specialists do not have a tie up with Bupa Global in Singapore for Outpatient services. Most of the times you have to pay and claim. Claim process is very smooth and the claims are settled within 7-10 days. Most of the claims are settled promptly. They do have errors in settlement but if you take some time out to follow up and give them details they correct that and pay you for that. Online support is great and customer service is excellent. Settlement process of Bupa is excellent. If you try to buy the policy personally the premium is slightly on the higher side but its worth the price.

    Brad C., an expat from India in Singapore - January 10, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 10 0
  • Overpriced and terrible customer service. I have been with BUPA for 10 years (joined when they were MBF). What a waste of time and money. I have now switched to LaTrobe who offer a much higher level of cover for literally half the price. I was disgusted to find with BUPA that although I had been a member for 10 years, if I wanted to upgrade my cover I had to serve the same waiting periods as new customers. What a waste of money! You would think they would reward loyalty to the company but they couldn't have cared less. They also couldn't have cared less that I was changing funds. But they did keep charging me via direct debit for 2 months despite the fact I had cancelled my cover with them! It took a long time and a lot of phone calls to recover the money. This company really don't care about their customers at all.

    Mark B., an expat from Australia in Philippines - October 11, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 17 2
  • New to UK health insurance so can't fully answer this yet. Had one run-in and it wasn't the greatest.

    Nathan R. , an expat from Canada in United Kingdom - July 31, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 5
  • I have been with BUPA for a considerable period of time . This year for the first time I have had to make a claim and this has been dealt with efficiently and fairley

    Kristina F. , an expat from United Kingdom in South Korea - July 9, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 1
  • its the best International Health Insurance Companies. I'm so satistied .Perfect . No question !!!!!!!

    Angel C., an expat from Indonesia in Samoa - January 12, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 7
  • BUPA have been excellent with me over the past twenty years.

    Mike B., an expat from United Kingdom in Indonesia - December 25, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 1
  • Bupa is a good insurance agency, they are kind of expensive and don't cover all countries but they provide a good quality services.

    Nick W., an expat from United Kingdom in China - October 19, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 5 0
  • Too many claims saw premiums rise to a point it was no longer affordable. That's a shame because Bupa was a very attractive company and easy to apply.

    Tobi L., an expat from Austria in China - October 19, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • I tried the one a friend told me he took and I was very satisfied with services provided, and pleasantly surprised by the speed of answers to my claims and questions.

    Bill J., an expat from United States in China - October 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Originally with IHI and then switched to AXA but did not not like the coverage and switched back to what is now Bupa IHI. Handling process for claims, child's birth in this case was laborious, we had to pay upfront and claim later, but at least we were covered to a degree. With healthcare in China on a very large sliding scale, we now have a no claim of USD5000, and only have it as real insurance for something big, day-to-day we just pay as we go for any small things and generally choose the Sino-Japanese hospital International department as it as affordable and good.

    Paul Mc N., an expat from United Kingdom in China - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • We sometimes have a few issue with the local provider (lost in translation) but get there eventually. This only happens with big claims or claims that need to be cleared before the event (like surgery in BKK or elsewhere).

    Helen G., an expat from Australia in Vietnam - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 2
  • BUPA has been reasonably priced and easy to renew and use. However, it's not always easy to compare a BUPA to an international plan such as AXA or CIGNA.

    Doug de W., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 3
  • Bupa has been great. No hassels !

    Grant B., an expat from Canada in China - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 1
  • Bupa is a very good quality insurer, I never had a problem for claims and asks. They are always available and they answer quickly.

    Kirsten H., an expat from Denmark in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • Bupa tries to dodge paying out where every possible, but all probably do that.

    Sandra T., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • Bupa is pretty well organised and reliable, the price may be kind of expensive but it feel as if they provide you the safe way to travel and live abroad.

    Irene N., an expat from Poland in Japan - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • I have received the best service and least problems from Bupa compared to the other health insurers I’ve used in the past. I compared and found their price the best, but their services have been just as good since then! My billing goes direct through my doctor’s office so the process is easy and I haven’t had trouble receiving treatment for anything yet. Every area I need is covered well and I don’t have to worry about receiving bills for services I have had.

    Andrew B, an expat from France in United States - August 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 1
  • The service in the call center has been helpful since day one. Whenever have had questions or needed to speak to a real person about my policy (and as I have had to make additions to my policy I did need to speak to someone) I have gotten fast answers and everything sorted out quickly. My doctor bills Bupa directly and I’ve only had to pay very minimal costs for my family’s care. I’m very satisfied with Bupa’s policies and would highly recommend their plans!

    Carol W. H., an expat from United Kingdom in Canada - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 3
  • I don't have particular comments, actually Bupa has been great. Good services, they take time to answer with details to your question and they are efficient to handle claims.

    Anonymous, an expat from Netherlands in Cambodia -

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
Featured articles view all
Partners
Are you looking for a flexible international health insurance?
cigna

Don't take chances with your medical cover

Get a free health insurance quote now from Cigna Global :

With Cigna Global Health Options you can create an international
health insurance plan that's perfectly tailored for the needs of you and your family around the world.

CIGNA Global

1 2 3 4 5
CIGNA Global is currently rated 4.5/5
based on 24 ratings. 24 user reviews

Read reviews
get a free quote
No thanks