Compare International Health Insurers

Looking for reviews on international health insurance companies is the best way for an expat to learn firsthand what benefits he or she will receive with a policy. Read our reviews here so you can be sure your plan is highly rated before you buy.
  • Overall, the process was great. They were very responsive as I was researching different options on another comparison site. The applications process was quick, payment was easy and I have had no issues since.

    Joe Cronin, an expat from United States in United States - June 8, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 1 1
  • We had expat insurance (BUPA) for the first years, until we became residents. As residents we were entitled to French coverage

    Katie, an expat from United States in France - April 19, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • very happy with the service provided...

    David T., an expat from United Kingdom in Singapore - May 25, 2015

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 3
  • perfect service, we are really happy with CIGNA, and even if not using them too much they have been really helpfull all the time. as my company is paying for it and i do not know the price i cannot judge though if it's good value for money.

    Earnest S., an expat from France in Singapore - February 18, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 8 13
  • I don't think this plan is still available but it has the great advantage of only uplifting premiums for age once after which they are only changed according to "medical inflation" (which I understand applies to all policies) Mine was uplifted when I reached 60 or 65 (I can't actually remember which) and not since. Given the considerable escalation of premiums as you pass 70 or 75 this is a valuable option. I also have a NCD and a reduction if I pay the first (£500 as I recall) of any claim. It doesn't cover GP services.

    Michael B, an expat from United Kingdom in United Kingdom - February 4, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 5 4
  • Quite a few GPs and other Specialists do not have a tie up with Bupa Global in Singapore for Outpatient services. Most of the times you have to pay and claim. Claim process is very smooth and the claims are settled within 7-10 days. Most of the claims are settled promptly. They do have errors in settlement but if you take some time out to follow up and give them details they correct that and pay you for that. Online support is great and customer service is excellent. Settlement process of Bupa is excellent. If you try to buy the policy personally the premium is slightly on the higher side but its worth the price.

    Brad C., an expat from India in Singapore - January 10, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 10 0
  • I had a surgery via the insurance company and the way they handled everything, the speed and the responsiveness were incredible. I didn't have to pay in advance anything and they approved inmediatly all the expenses proposed by my doctor.

    Liz Y. , an expat from Spain in United Kingdom - June 27, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 1
  • All services I've recieved have been payed with out issue.

    Jaslei E. , an expat from Australia in Singapore - March 23, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • its the best International Health Insurance Companies. I'm so satistied .Perfect . No question !!!!!!!

    Angel C., an expat from Indonesia in Samoa - January 12, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 7
  • BUPA have been excellent with me over the past twenty years.

    Mike B., an expat from United Kingdom in Indonesia - December 25, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 1
  • Great experience. Once I met my deductible they paid all claims and when I requested direct settlement with an in network provider it was approved very easy. There phone representatives aren't very helpful but I find contacting them by email to get correct responses.

    Steven Wainer, an expat from United States in Argentina - April 30, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 0
  • In the US, it's hard to find a good insurance company nowadays but Aetna is a pretty great option. I would recommend it. The online management of the account is very good too.

    Linda, an expat from Mexico in United States - April 19, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 1
  • I was offered my plan by an agent. So far, had no claims etc. No problems at this point.

    Karen T, an expat from Taiwan in United States - January 10, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • All in all its a great insurance plan.

    Grace Y., an expat from United States in Iraq - August 15, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 4
  • The service itself was outstanding. Unfortunately it's probably not price competitive as we found (when we had to take the cover on ourselves). If money is no object, I can't speak highly enough. If money is an object, then we've gotten very good service (albeit not quite as outstanding as BUPA) for about 2/3 of the price.

    Jim G., an expat from Australia in Singapore - May 9, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 0
  • I have used Cigna for my family in Singapore and I would say that its the best when it comes to Cashless settlement. Cigna has a tie up with Parkway Shenton Group in Singapore so all of the parkway clinics get covered by Cigna in Singapore. As long as its a cashless settlement the process is fantastic. In case you ever need pre-authorization for any thing major Cigna gives it no time to you or your medical provider. When it comes to pay and claim Cigna's online submission is pretty good. Most of the times the claims go through. I won't say that Cigna settles the claims very promptly and some times they take good 3-4 weeks or even more to settle the claims though there are no questions asked and claim is reimbursed. They don't impose any restrictions in terms of doctors that you can go to. If you decide to buy Cigna cover personally premium is at least double compared to local insurers Having said that I would recommend Cigna any day for expats in Singapore

    Zyril D., an expat from India in Singapore - January 10, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 1
  • Excellent provider with a European office, excellent choices of cover and very competitively priced.

    Keith Crane, an expat from United Kingdom in United States - January 3, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 0
  • I’m very happy with Aviva, they have been wonderful as far as I am concerned.... I’ve been with them for a couple years and they helped me through claims and everything went smoothly. I have no complaints what so ever and I happy with the medical coverage for the price I pay.

    Rita B., an expat from United Kingdom in Spain - March 12, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • Fantastic cashless health insurance for some of the private healthcare providers in Singapore. As long as I use listed doctors (GP or specialist) all consultations, medications, lab test etc are all done without me even seeing a bill. Great because it avoids all the hassle of filling in claim forms and quibling over what is or is not covered. Also fantastic for big expenses which we may not have had the cash for should we need to pay first and then claim it back. Sadly though, we are losing this health insurance at the end of the month when we go on local contract, and I cannot see it being worthwhile for us to join it ourselves as individuals once we are no longer covered on the company policy.

    Lisa J., an expat from United Kingdom in Singapore - August 13, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Axa's financial advisors are very good in handling customer issues. Made a claim yesterday and everything is moving very smoothly. Hope to get my money at the end of the week!

    Allain V., an expat from Philippines in Singapore - July 25, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 7
  • Their online claim submission and reviewing process is excellent! Very easy to fill out. Takes only few mins. Also they usually process claims within a week, which is great!

    Mukkul, an expat from Canada in Singapore - July 19, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • We were always treated well by this company and only changed insurers because my company now offers a comprehensive insurance policy from a different provider.

    Linda B., an expat from Netherlands in Thailand - July 17, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 1
  • Application process is very easy. You can buy 100% online with a credit card http://www.cigna-international-health.com Customer service is hard to beat with Cigna, very responsive.

    Vans S., an expat from United States in Germany - June 13, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 0
  • totally reliable

    Jocelyn E. , an expat from Philippines in Singapore - February 10, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 3
  • good axa

    Govil, an expat from Indonesia in France - December 13, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 6
  • We sometimes have a few issue with the local provider (lost in translation) but get there eventually. This only happens with big claims or claims that need to be cleared before the event (like surgery in BKK or elsewhere).

    Helen G., an expat from Australia in Vietnam - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 2
  • BUPA has been reasonably priced and easy to renew and use. However, it's not always easy to compare a BUPA to an international plan such as AXA or CIGNA.

    Doug de W., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 3
  • Bupa has been great. No hassels !

    Grant B., an expat from Canada in China - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 1
  • I was attracted by the fact that after 2 years of no claims related to pre-existing conditions, pre-existing conditions are covered. That's a really good point and also services have always been provided on time.

    Ian F., an expat from United Kingdom in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 11 0
  • Bupa is a very good quality insurer, I never had a problem for claims and asks. They are always available and they answer quickly.

    Kirsten H., an expat from Denmark in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • I have applied me and my family and some friends use it too everything works fine with Aetna.

    Vincenzo M., an expat from Italy in China - October 21, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 4
  • A friend told me about it, that's why I chose it. I wasn't disappointed, services are great and customer relationship is really awesome. I really appreciated services were provided on time!

    Joseph P., an expat from Hong Kong in India - October 21, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • Coverage is for China & USA. Premiums go up over 40% if you have USA coverage in addition to your ex-pat coverage.

    Jenny A., an expat from United States in China - October 20, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 2
  • No much to talk about, good coverage, I don't have any problem to join them, they are available for clients claims

    Allen C., an expat from Austria in China - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • I found Clements through my own health insurance broker before I moved to Singapore and liked that they specialize in expat insurance, since that applied most to me. I compared and found their price the best, but their services have been just as good since then! My billing goes direct through my doctor’s office so the process is easy and I haven’t had trouble receiving treatment for anything yet. Since I went with Clements since I haven’t had any trouble with my medical bills.

    Katherine F., an expat from Singapore in United States - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 19 10
  • I have received the best service and least problems from Cigna compared to the other health insurers I’ve used in the past. The cost of medicine in Moscow is comparatively expensive for good care, but Cigna has never rejected a claim or given me trouble. Even when expensive bills for diagnostic tests came through Cigna handled everything quickly and easily without me even needing to fill out additional paperwork or call the company.

    Daniella R., an expat from Italy in Russia - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 8 0
  • The entire process of purchasing a policy, specifying it to my wishes and making claims couldn’t be easier. I spent a long while talking with my representative before I purchased a policy through AXA to be sure it was exactly how I wanted it, and I have no complaints. Every area I need is covered well and I don’t have to worry about receiving bills for services I have had.

    Grégoire D., an expat from France in Australia - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 3
  • The service in the call center has been helpful since day one. Whenever have had questions or needed to speak to a real person about my policy (and as I have had to make additions to my policy I did need to speak to someone) I have gotten fast answers and everything sorted out quickly. My doctor bills Bupa directly and I’ve only had to pay very minimal costs for my family’s care. I’m very satisfied with Bupa’s policies and would highly recommend their plans!

    Carol W. H., an expat from United Kingdom in Canada - August 10, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 3
  • Continuing to make assessment as I have only had the coverage five months.

    Chris R., an expat from United States in Saudi Arabia - January 5, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 4
  • When I joined up, I found the representative very helpful. Everything was explained clearly and they made sure to build a policy that suited me so I don’t have to pay for things I don’t need. Since then I’ve always been able to get the answers I need, although I personally haven’t had to claim anything major.

    Olivia S., an expat from Canada in Italy - May 28, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 1
  • Never had problems with Aviva, price is ok and in my experience they respond well.

    Kevin T., an expat from Malaysia in United Kingdom - September 10, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 2
  • No problems with Cigna for the 2 years i've had an account with them.

    Michelle B., an expat from Australia in Singapore - June 25, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • I have had no issues but also have not had to use the claims department since Thai healthcare is so cheap! If it wasn't free, I wouldn't worry about health insurance while living here!

    Josh H., an expat from United States in Thailand - May 14, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • A family member is connected with Allianz. That's why i got my policy from her.

    Cristine M., an expat from Philippines in Georgia - April 27, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 4
  • All services I've received have been payed with out issue.

    Terrence D. , an expat from Australia in Singapore - February 17, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • No problems

    May K., an expat from Indonesia in Ireland - January 7, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 4
  • The products are all good, the customer relationship officer are good so far but I've once tried to close one of the insurance program was little bit disappointed because they still debit my credit card but finally back after I called.

    Dedy I., an expat from Indonesia in United States -

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 1
  • I don't have particular comments, actually Bupa has been great. Good services, they take time to answer with details to your question and they are efficient to handle claims.

    Anonymous, an expat from Netherlands in Cambodia -

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • Bupa tries to dodge paying out where every possible, but all probably do that.

    Sandra T., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • I was enrolled in a plan for graduate school in Thailand and even if I didn't really use my plan that much, Aetna backed me all my trip long.

    Duncan K., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • First, I required to know about the insurance's providing if I have to go for studying abroad. They were available for all questions I had and very pleased to answer, it represented the good quality service of AXA insurance for expatriates.

    Lina T., an expat from Thailand in Australia - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • Aetna is an efficient company providing quicly efficient services.

    Brice O., an expat from United Kingdom in Malta - October 20, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 1
  • I tried the one a friend told me he took and I was very satisfied with services provided, and pleasantly surprised by the speed of answers to my claims and questions.

    Bill J., an expat from United States in China - October 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • I have no comparison as I hadn't try others but I rate it as good, and on all points they give my satisfaction by their efficient services

    Georges K., an expat from Philippines in Australia - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • No problem so far with this company, good services

    Joe B., an expat from Australia in Indonesia - October 14, 2015

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • Never made a claim yet, but service is okay so far

    Jaime J., an expat from Philippines in United States - November 23, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 3
  • Still new to this insurance provider. No problems so far.

    John L., an expat from Singapore in Philippines - October 3, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 3
  • No problem here

    Veronica S., an expat from United States in Philippines - September 26, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • I've had universal life and annuities with Allianz for several years and both products have performed exactly as they were guaranteed to perform

    Daryl P., an expat from New Zealand in Philippines - September 19, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • My financial adviser is pretty much all the best help i could get with regard to my insurance.

    Warrick H., an expat from Argentina in Philippines - September 6, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 4
  • I have been with BUPA for a considerable period of time . This year for the first time I have had to make a claim and this has been dealt with efficiently and fairley

    Kristina F. , an expat from United Kingdom in South Korea - July 9, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 1
  • Very timely payments by this insurer and low co pays

    Ben W., an expat from Spain in Japan - April 23, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • I have been with AXA Cross for the last five years and I am extremely satisfied with the service.

    Roma C., an expat from Romania in Finland - March 27, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 3
  • Bupa is pretty well organised and reliable, the price may be kind of expensive but it feel as if they provide you the safe way to travel and live abroad.

    Irene N., an expat from Poland in Japan - October 11, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Bupa is a good insurance agency, they are kind of expensive and don't cover all countries but they provide a good quality services.

    Nick W., an expat from United Kingdom in China - October 19, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 5 0
  • Originally with IHI and then switched to AXA but did not not like the coverage and switched back to what is now Bupa IHI. Handling process for claims, child's birth in this case was laborious, we had to pay upfront and claim later, but at least we were covered to a degree. With healthcare in China on a very large sliding scale, we now have a no claim of USD5000, and only have it as real insurance for something big, day-to-day we just pay as we go for any small things and generally choose the Sino-Japanese hospital International department as it as affordable and good.

    Paul Mc N., an expat from United Kingdom in China - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • It's a good coverage after all, I don't see any negative points

    Muhammad A., an expat from Pakistan in Bahrain - September 29, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 2
  • I was looking for insurance while living in Qatar

    Jeff J., an expat from United States in Qatar - September 20, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 7
  • I was surprised it covered so much. I thought it was just inpatient cover but when I had an accident it covered that too. Cigna were friendly and helpful.

    Francesca G., an expat from Sweden in Singapore - July 7, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 0 0
  • I think this is a great company. Every time I have called Aetna they have always been very kind and helpful. I have very few problems with finding providers that take my insurance and my experience is quite pleasant.

    Allie E., an expat from United States in Singapore - July 18, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • I have no choice. It's the company's insurance policy.

    Shirly S., an expat from China in Singapore - February 27, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 5
  • My insureance merchants are good quality hospital ini my country. so i satisfied enough.

    Jessie H., an expat from Indonesia in Singapore - December 20, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 3
  • It's my only experience so far with health coverage abroad, I am satisfied by services provided by Aetna as direct billing worked out with no problems.

    Jeremy G., an expat from in -

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 1
  • Too many claims saw premiums rise to a point it was no longer affordable. That's a shame because Bupa was a very attractive company and easy to apply.

    Tobi L., an expat from Austria in China - October 19, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • Good one, not too slow to handle requests !

    Jan P., an expat from United States in China - October 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 1
  • I asked for advice before leaving, I wasn't disappointed by aetna, good quality services but kind of expensive for students

    Benoit T., an expat from France in China - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 1
  • I have received the best service and least problems from Bupa compared to the other health insurers I’ve used in the past. I compared and found their price the best, but their services have been just as good since then! My billing goes direct through my doctor’s office so the process is easy and I haven’t had trouble receiving treatment for anything yet. Every area I need is covered well and I don’t have to worry about receiving bills for services I have had.

    Andrew B, an expat from France in United States - August 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 1
  • Aetna International gave me the run around for 14months! I now have a permanent hit on my credit report. Aetna constantly processed claims incorrectly or only in part. I had to call Aetna at least 2-3x per claim to get them resubmitted before they would pay. Aetna delayed payments by requesting records while the hospital had already sent 3x. Aetna- once told me all my previous 8 claims so fart that year were processed incorrectly. The only way I was able to get my claims processed was to call over and over until I got and honest Rep. (who they probably fired!) I had to play dumb and ask him all about my policy and give him hypothetical questions and scenarios . And He would come back "Yes, you are covered" so then, only then, I said “Ok, well please have a look at these claims numbers and tell me am not covered"? Finally PAID in full. They are dishonest, untrained, or both at processing claims.

    Jonathan K., an expat from United States in Japan - July 15, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 0
  • I explained my situation to the representative making sure I was purchasing the correct policy. 0% deductible and 0 out of pocket which cost me $400 NZD per month. Yes you're reading that correctly but money isn't the issue. I had an appointment to see a specialist and Cigna told me they wouldn't cover it because my referral letter was written prior to the appointment and I had a pre existing condition. I have no pre existing condition nor do I have any documentation stating I do! The fact that the date of my appointment is a deciding factor in whether or not I get coverage is ridiculous. Insurance companies in general are out for one thing and one thing only... money. They're no more concerned with your health or wellbeing than these vulture pharma companies. Cigna fits right in with the money hungry associations. Luckily I found out that my appointment is cheaper paying out of pocket than my insurance fees.

    Aria, an expat from United States in New Zealand - March 21, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • They used to be decent but after looking at the latest policy renewal I was shocked at how little their coverage is. If you can, get a different provider.

    Aaron P., an expat from Georgia in Philippines - September 19, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Good luck :)

    Yaniv, an expat from Israel in Singapore - August 24, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 8
  • CIGNA handles routine approved claims fairly well. But when even the smallest thing is different or non-standard they drift into DUMMY mode and never recover. They say one thing today, another tomorrow. It's a game of wild goose chase that never ends until you finally get tired and give up. They are horrible at handling anything but routine! Information sent to them is ALLWAYS lost. I would never recommend to my least friends. I've been fighting a +$500 claim for months now. Every time I call they want me to do something else before deciding if they'll pay the claim.

    Reily D., an expat from Cambodia in Japan - February 2, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 12 2
  • They charge incorrect deductibles and copays. and deny claims repeatedly, it usually takes 3 or more calls to get a claim filed correctly. There customer service is poorly trained, had two different people tell me a service was covered only to have them deny it later. Filed an appeal and after more that a year still no response.

    Bron D., an expat from United States in Japan - February 2, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 0
  • Very slow to handle claims and they required a lot of information before they would even process it.

    John L., an expat from United States in Thailand - October 13, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • If you stick with it you will have your claims paid. Just be prepared to fight for it.

    Tina R., an expat from Austria in North Korea - October 24, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • Terrible service and responsiveness. It took more than 9 months to resolve a co-payment issue with a hospital. Dozens of international phone calls so that I wasn't left out of pocket, even though the terms were clear. More than 10 times I was assured that it was resolved by Cigna representatives only to find out from the hospital that they were still owed money. Finally resolved in my favour as expected. The fact that I had outstanding debt to my name in a country with a less than desirable legal system was stressful and could have resulted in legal action being taken against me. Not worth the risk to go with Cigna.

    Anonymous, an expat from Australia in Thailand - April 25, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • The process you have to do to see a specialist is ridiculous and long. I used to be with Simply Health which was a lot better until it got bought by AXA PPP. The customer service guy told me I have to register online to upload the referral letter before I could see the specialist and when I went on the site online, it didn't let me register! (there was clearly a technical problem with their site) I called customer services AGAIN and all they said was to keep trying registering!..... NO...I shouldn't be trying!...THEY should be solving the technical problem their site has!!! so I can't see the specialist still Very unprofessional and unhelpful I would recommend you to stay clear from this company

    A.J., an expat from Argentina in United Kingdom - March 16, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • I used to have private UK health insurance (BUPA) which was very expensive, and when I came to make a biggish claim I had a huge battle with them as they didn’t want to pay it. I decided, after that, that if I saved the money that I spent on private health insurance to pay for myself if anything was needed, I was probably better off!

    Jo W, an expat from United States in Czech - February 10, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • Unfortunately we changed to AWC which we absolutely regret in hindsight. It is the first time I express my opinion in a blog and though frustrated and feeling ripped of I do hope this helps others not to make same mistake. Processes and reimbursement submissions include massive paperwork and lots of our own time providing proof and often additional medical documentation. Unless you work in a company handling all this or unless you have a secretary you probably end up spending lots of time doing work for an insurance which asks for lots of premium. At the end we got very little re-imbursed. Especially when amounts got bigger. Obviously KPI's of AWC employees must be linked to cost savings (avoiding reimbursements). Rarely felt as helpless and frustrated. Given their premium - I seriously recommend to look for other options!

    Toby M., an expat from Germany in Singapore - November 24, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 15 0
  • New to UK health insurance so can't fully answer this yet. Had one run-in and it wasn't the greatest.

    Nathan R. , an expat from Canada in United Kingdom - July 31, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 5
  • I regret the day I signed up AXA PPP as my health insurance provider. They are terribly inefficient in dealing with queries and authorizing claims. They do not give a hoot about providing good customer care services and will not call you back EVER even after telling you they will call back in 24 hours. Talking with an AXA staff member will give you a headache and will ruin your day because you will feel helpless and frustrated. I filed a simple claim 3 months back and it is still outstanding. I am so disgusted with their staff and their systems. The staff is paid to be useless, unhelpful and to give the customer no straight answers. I can't wait for the policy to end so this nightmare called AXA PPP will end with it.

    Lauren C., an expat from India in United Kingdom - February 20, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 10 0
  • Trying to avoid my insurance company as much as possible since it's just non-stop problems and time consuming to claim anything back.

    Stephen H., an expat from Sweden in China - October 18, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • A lot of the international hospitals/clinics in Beijing won't do direct billing with Aetna. Everything has to be on a pre-approved basis which only works for big claims like medical operations etc. I find that submitting claims to Hong Kong to be more trouble than is worth the time. They keep on substantially raising the price of my coverage each year on renewal, but I don't dare leave them because of personnals issues. It is very frustrating to say the least as I am stuck with Aetna.

    Terry C., an expat from United States in China - October 14, 2011

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 5 0
  • I have no choice. This is the only medical my work offers. Would NEVER pick them on my own. Way too much bull.

    Marco S., an expat from Greece in Philippines - September 14, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 5
  • Good luck getting Allianz to pay out. I would not use this company but have no choice as it is provided by my partner's employer. The staff are exceedingly unpleasant and unhelpful, there is a lack of clarity about the documentation required to make the inital claim, lengthy delays processing claims and very little willingness to provide support. My advice would be to avoid AWC at all costs.

    Anonymous, an expat from United Kingdom in Australia - June 23, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 3 0
  • This health insurance company sounds too good to be true. They take the premiums, then they refuse to pay on the claim, and then add it on as pre-existing condition at that time. They are a bunch of crooks!

    Anonymous, an expat from Germany in United States - May 17, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    Verified Profile
    You found this review 6 0
  • Truly awful Service if you put in a claim you have to wait an age for it to be paid or it just will not be paid. They do not respond to emails or complaints. If you contact them by phone hardly any of them speak English even though their customers are in English speaking countries. The ones that do speak a little English struggle to understand your concerns and do nothing about them. The real worry we have is if one of us was seriously ill Cigna for certain would be of no use at all. Stay way from this Company!

    Anonymous, an expat from United Kingdom in Canada - May 3, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • The most useless insurance ever. Do not recommend to anyone. Reimbursement process doesn't work. Customer service is terrible. I spent more than 70$ just to try and call them and almost 1000$ for claims which can't be proceeded. Terrible, Worst ever.

    Tanya, an expat from Russia in Thailand - April 5, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • If the company wasn't paying I would not be on BUPA. They make mistakes in claims and customer service are uninformed and difficult to deal with. Average wait time to speak with rep is 15 mins, only to be told they will get back to you. Latest nightmare with them i have been waiting for pre-approval for a very routine outpatient treatment. It has taken two weeks and no reply i have had to call them back twice and no update. Save your money and go elsewhere!

    Anonymous beacuse under my employer, an expat from Singapore in Singapore - April 4, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • Expensive,no service,not clear at all, had the platinum plan who is the best one 5 milj banht covered by case,but when asking to clarifie it was not clear, it means if they say that your new case is related to the previous one and the 5 milj is used its finished and thats easy for sure to relate one to another. When you send a mail with a question nobody reply, if you send a mail to cancel within 5 min they reply to ask why?

    ERIC DEKEGEL, an expat from Belgium in Thailand - March 31, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 0 0
  • Aviva were awful to deal with, you had to fight them even for legitimate claims. The premiums are costly and we ended up receiving very little benefit. I would not recommend them ever, and my husband absolutely hates them.

    L. W., an expat from Australia in United Kingdom - February 21, 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 1
  • I had an emergency case during my travel in February 2016 in Wellington, NZ caused by sudden allergic reaction to sun which I have never had before. I was very much disappointed about low service and unprofessional approach when I called hot-line and applied for help.The lady on the phone was useless, she sent me several times to wrong hospitals.Finally I had to run to find clinic by myself and paid all from my pocket.The doctor said if I came an hour later, I could die.I was a holder of Cigna insurance policy with direct billing, 0 deductibles & 0 out of pocket. When my policy expired and I wrote I didn't want to renew it, Cigna charged my card for $4.8k.Luckily there was not enough money.I asked them to stop it by email but they kept charging my card again and again. I've got no feedback from Cigna regarding my complaints.There is no customer care at Cigna and no respect.They are only interested to get money from you but not solving your problem when you are in real trouble.Horrible!

    Nikolay K, an expat from Russia in Vietnam - October 19, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 1
  • I applied 8 weeks ago for a family of 4 taking the full medical underwriting option ( FMU ) . They responded very slowly with repetitious questions and eventually the conditions set ( 8 weeks later !!!! ) were so stringent that cover would be useless relative to cost They may appear cheap but I am sure they will nicle and dime you on any effective cover Pick some done more professional !!

    Anonymous, an expat from United Kingdom in Hong Kong - June 23, 2015

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 2 0
  • All the claims we submitted from Swedish providers-- doctor's visits, pharmaceuticals and vaccines--were denied with the explanation "Receipts were illegible. Please send legible receipts." The only two claims they actually processed--submitted and scanned exactly the same way as the others--were from a U.S. provider on a visit home. What is the point of "international" insurance, if they can't figure out foreign receipts? Since my scans of the receipts looked completely legible, I tried calling and e-mailing for clarification. I was told by one phone agent that the receipts lacked a date. I looked at my scans-- clear dates on every one of them-- most even had the date twice. All e-mails yielded robotic responses repeating the refrain "Please submit legible receipts." Frustrated, I mailed paper copies of all the receipts to them in April and have received absolutely no contact in response. It is like banging up against a brick wall. Worst customer service ever!

    Sherwin B., an expat from United States in Sweden - July 23, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 5 0
  • I would say in comparison with other providers they provide really poor service which is UK-centric and with the clear objective of limiting service at all costs. The only contact service is via a UK phone line (mot much good when you are in Mozambique), they refuse to deal sensibly via email and insist on using the postal service (which effectively does not deliver in MZ), the claim process is opaque and they often request follow up information for a procedure undertaken months before having assured us to the contrary verbally.

    Marivic N., an expat from United Kingdom in Mozambique - May 10, 2013

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
  • Australian hospitals and doctors offices will not direct bill insurance companies so I have to submit invoices and make claims for each visit. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I've been submitting claims since August and it's not December and I have yet to see any money back. I've had to pay over $5,000 out of my own pocket which I've been trying for months to get reimbursed from Aetna. Each day I call Aetna to follow up on my claims and it's one of these excuses: They can't find the receipts I've emailed them, They can't read my scan (even though it's a perfectly clear copy on my end) OR they need further explanation of my doctors visit. Once I provide all the information they requested, you still won't hear back from them. I've even tried to get this escalated to management level at Aetna and they make promises I will receive a call back, but no ever calls.

    Shiela B., an expat from United States in Australia - December 8, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 8 0
  • Aetna has a flawed computer system that routinely degrades the quality of your submitted claims so their claims processors cannot read them. The claims are scanned and perfectly legible on my end, but on their end, the break apart the PDF files you send and reorganize them degrading the quality and making tracking on your end very difficult. As a result, I've had to resend claims over and over and over again until they were paid. On one submittal, I've spent a total of 3 hours (four 45 minute phone calls) until everything is settled. Currently, I still have one outstanding claim that they are fiddling around with. I submitted this claim in March 2012, and it's now October 2012 and they claim still has not been paid. I've submitted the claim 6 times, and still, nothing.

    Andrea S., an expat from United States in South Africa - October 2, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 6 0
  • I apply for the insurance but till now there was no reply. I have made initial payment. I am not sure what is hapenning. The agent is no longer in the company. Call the office but since now no reply.

    Azman, an expat from Singapore in Singapore - August 9, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • This is a health insurance which you give you, ironically , lots of stress and lots of heart burn. I do not understand how such a shady organization is allowed to exist in the first place. The staff is outrageously unprofessional and sneaky. They will tell you that someone will call you back but no one ever calls back. They will go to evil lengths to avoid paying a claim. They shamelessly lie through their teeth and will treat you like a fool . You will feel like boxing the person at the other end of the telephone line because talking to the AXA people will leave you exasperated. And trust me you will have to go through this again and again and again. They are extremely vague about the cancellation policy. They WILL charge you even after you have tried your best to cancel the policy. STAY AWAY from this organization. They are more painful than a rotten tooth.

    Arv, an expat from United Kingdom in Taiwan - August 2, 2015

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • They closed the application fast and took the money without questions. Yet when my 1 year old son had an emergency internship in USA, they refuse to pay. Even the ombudsman proposed a meeting for mediation which they refused. I can not even cancel the policy, even after emails, phone, and letters to them. They had my credit card details so they automatically deducted for a second year. I lost over 6000 Euros with this wonderful policy and did not see one dime back, just stress and work to get my money back. Moral of my experience: if it is too easy to apply it is to good to be true! Stay away from Allianz.

    Rosa B., an expat from Switzerland in Hungary - July 17, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 14 1
  • They just refuse to process my claim related with a surgery. Gave all documentation required, they argued that I didn't let them know about the surgery. The surgery was done 2 days after the visit to the doctor with a pain. How can I let them know while I am just taking pre surgery test and preparing everything?. This company is fast just to take your payment.

    Serena V., an expat from Venezuela in Russia - June 20, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 9 0
  • Steer well clear of AXA for International cover. Their objective is to avoid paying out on any basis, and they do not even explain the reasons for non payment. Their Personal Advisers are even prepared to fabricate reasons to avoid payment. They will only engage in verbal dialogue and refuse to put their reasons for denying claims in writing. For any employer, that wishes to give his employees a benefit that keeps them healthy, beware! The AXA policy does not encourage preventative measures, evident by their measly coverage limits for screening and diagnostics. On the other hand, if you neglect your health, get sick, and require treatment, you will likely get a payout. Do you think they might have a financial interest in the hospitals? Employers make sure your HR staff don't go for the glossy websites and smooth talk when they put their so called benefits packages together.

    Grace M. , an expat from United Kingdom in United States - June 14, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 10 0
  • high premiums minimal coverage on claims

    Marishka W., an expat from Botswana in Brazil - March 27, 2015

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 1 0
  • Insurance through my company. Had to get HR dept involved to get claim settled.

    Baron G., an expat from Luxembourg in United Kingdom - March 9, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 7 0
  • Overpriced and terrible customer service. I have been with BUPA for 10 years (joined when they were MBF). What a waste of time and money. I have now switched to LaTrobe who offer a much higher level of cover for literally half the price. I was disgusted to find with BUPA that although I had been a member for 10 years, if I wanted to upgrade my cover I had to serve the same waiting periods as new customers. What a waste of money! You would think they would reward loyalty to the company but they couldn't have cared less. They also couldn't have cared less that I was changing funds. But they did keep charging me via direct debit for 2 months despite the fact I had cancelled my cover with them! It took a long time and a lot of phone calls to recover the money. This company really don't care about their customers at all.

    Mark B., an expat from Australia in Philippines - October 11, 2012

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 17 2
  • I regret the day I signed up AXA PPP as my health insurance provider. They are terribly inefficient in dealing with queries and authorizing claims. They do not give a hoot about providing good customer care services and will not call you back EVER even after telling you they will call back in 24 hours. Talking with an AXA staff member will give you a headache and will ruin your day because you will feel helpless and frustrated. I filed a simple claim 3 months back and it is still outstanding. I am so disgusted with their staff and their systems. The staff is paid to be useless, unhelpful and to give the customer no straight answers. I can't wait for the policy to end so this nightmare called AXA PPP will end with it.

    Suresh, an expat from India in United Kingdom - November 14, 2016

    1 2 3 4 5
    You found this review 4 0
Featured articles view all
Partners
Are you looking for a flexible international health insurance?
cigna

Don't take chances with your medical cover

Get a free health insurance quote now from Cigna Global :

With Cigna Global Health Options you can create an international
health insurance plan that's perfectly tailored for the needs of you and your family around the world.

CIGNA Global

1 2 3 4 5
CIGNA Global is currently rated 4.5/5
based on 24 ratings. 24 user reviews

Read reviews
get a free quote
No thanks